top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturesuzannecoomer

Welcome to SLP Book Club!


Welcome to SLP Book Club! Once a month, I will be reviewing a book (or the occasional podcast) from the perspective of a speech-language pathology grad student. I am a HUGE pop non-fiction fan. Before I started grad school in 2020, I asked several people: where are the books about SLP Stuff? Who is the Mary Roach of voice, or the Siddhartha Mukherjee of swallowing?


The general answer was a resounding "... huh?" Now, a whole year later, I've started to suspect that Mary Roach and Siddhartha Mukherjee ARE the people writing SLP stuff, along with basically every non-fiction writer I've ever read. I've become convinced that every topic is secretly something that an SLP can get their hands on, and I'm excited to get stuck back into books I've loved - and hopefully some new favourites! - with my New Clinician Goggles firmly in place. Some of the titles you can look forward to: - Gulp! by Mary Roach (dysphagia!)

- Mutants by Armand Marie Leroi (cleft lip and palate via embryological development!) - The Emperor of Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee (head and neck cancer!)

- Because Internet by Gretchen McCulloch (pragmatic language and informal literacy!) - Gender Trouble by Judith Butler (gender affirming voice therapy!)


... and many more!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page